Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Great Violinists And Pianists   By: (1840-)

Book cover

In his comprehensive work, George T. Ferris delves deep into the world of classical music with Great Violinists And Pianists. From the very first page, it becomes evident that the author possesses an extensive knowledge and passion for the subject matter, making this book an absolute treat for both music enthusiasts and professionals alike.

The book begins by providing a historical overview of the evolution of both violin and piano instruments, which lays a solid foundation for understanding the subsequent chapters. Ferris then proceeds to profile some of the most eminent violinists and pianists throughout history, offering a glimpse into their lives, artistic pursuits, and exceptional talent that immortalized them.

One of the most commendable aspects of this book is Ferris' ability to capture the essence and unique style of each musician he profiles. Through meticulous research and insightful analysis, he skillfully delves into their musical interpretations, technical prowess, and distinct sound. As a result, readers are granted a deeper appreciation for the incredible depth and breadth of musical artistry represented in these master instrumentalists.

Moreover, Ferris thoughtfully balances the inclusion of both renowned artists—such as Yehudi Menuhin, David Oistrakh, and Arthur Rubinstein—and lesser-known figures, ensuring a well-rounded exploration of the violin and piano realms. This approach not only enriches the reader's understanding of the subject matter but also serves as a reminder that true greatness can be found in various corners of the musical world.

While the content of Great Violinists And Pianists is truly exceptional, it is worth noting that some readers may find the sheer amount of information overwhelming. The book covers an extensive range of musicians, often delving into minute details that might not resonate with all readers. However, this level of thoroughness also serves as a testament to Ferris' dedication to providing a well-rounded portrayal of each artist.

Additionally, the inclusion of anecdotal stories and personal accounts adds a layer of human interest to the book, making it accessible and engaging for readers from all walks of life. Ferris masterfully balances the technical and historical aspects with captivating storytelling, successfully bridging the gap between scholarly work and mainstream literature.

In conclusion, Great Violinists And Pianists is an invaluable resource for anyone seeking a deeper understanding of the classical music world. George T. Ferris' meticulous research, keen insights, and passionate writing make this book a delight to read. Whether you are a student, professional musician, or simply an enthusiast, Great Violinists And Pianists is sure to enrich your knowledge and appreciation of the exceptional talent that graces the world of classical music.

First Page:


By George T. Ferris

Copyright, 1881, By D. Appleton and Company.


The title of this little book may be misleading to some of its readers, in its failure to include sketches of many eminent artists well worthy to be classed under such a head. There has been no attempt to cover the immense field of executive music, but only to call attention to the lives of those musical celebrities who are universally recognized as occupying the most exalted places in the arts of violin and pianoforte playing; who stand forth as landmarks in the history of music. To do more than this, except in a merely encyclopedic fashion, within the allotted space, would have been impossible. The same necessity of limits has also compelled the writer to exclude consideration of the careers of noted living performers; as it was thought best that discrimination should be in favor of those great artists whose careers have been completely rounded and finished.

An exception to the above will be noted in the case of Franz Liszt; but, aside from the fact that this greatest of piano forte virtuosos, though living, has practically retired from the held of art, to omit him from such a volume as this would be an unpardonable omission. In connection with the personal lives of the artists sketched in this volume, the attempt has been made, in a general, though necessarily imperfect, manner, to trace the gradual development of the art of playing from its cruder beginnings to the splendid virtuosoism of the present time... Continue reading book >>

eBook Downloads
ePUB eBook
• iBooks for iPhone and iPad
• Nook
• Sony Reader
Kindle eBook
• Mobi file format for Kindle
Read eBook
• Load eBook in browser
Text File eBook
• Computers
• Windows
• Mac

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books