Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

The Ingoldsby Legends, 1st Series

The Ingoldsby Legends, 1st Series by Richard Harris Barham
By: (1788-1845)

The Ingoldsby Legends, 1st Series by Richard Harris Barham is a charming collection of humorous and macabre tales that will delight fans of classic English literature. Each story is filled with witty wordplay, clever rhymes, and a hint of the supernatural, making for a captivating read from start to finish. Barham's writing style is clever and engaging, pulling readers into a world of ghosts, goblins, and eccentric characters. From the misadventures of Sir Guy of Warwick to the antics of Tom Hickathrift, these legends offer a unique blend of comedy and suspense that is sure to entertain readers of all ages. Overall, The Ingoldsby Legends is a timeless classic that showcases Barham's talent for storytelling and humor, making it a must-read for fans of Victorian literature.

Book Description:
The Ingoldsby Legends are a collection of myths, legends, ghost stories and poetry supposedly written by Thomas Ingoldsby of Tappington Manor, actually a pen-name of Richard Harris Barham.

The legends were first printed in 1837 as a regular series in Bentley's Miscellany and later in New Monthly Magazine. The legends were illustrated by John Leech and George Cruikshank. They proved immensely popular and were compiled into books published in 1840, 1842 and 1847 by Richard Bentley. They remained popular through the Victorian era but have since fallen out of fame. An omnibus edition appeared in 1879: The Ingoldsby Legends; or Mirth and marvels.

Stream audiobook and download chapters

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books