Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Peggy Owen at Yorktown   By: (1865-1932)

Book cover

First Page:

[Illustration: "DID THEE PUT THY NAME ON IT?"]



Lucy Foster Madison

Author of

"Peggy Owen" "Peggy Owen Patriot" "Peggy Owen and Liberty"

Illustrated by H. J. Peck

The Penn Publishing Company PHILADELPHIA MCMXVII


"Oh, who can gaze upon the relics here, And not their sacred memories revere? Who can behold the figures of our sires, And not be touched with Freedom's hallowed fires?"


The members of the Society of Friends, or "Quakers," residing in the American colonies, were sadly tried during the struggle by those colonies against King George. The Quaker principles forbade warfare, but the Quaker hearts were often as loyal to their country as any about them. Some of these found a way to reconcile principles with patriotism and, entering the American army, were known as "fighting Quakers." David Owen, Peggy's father, was one of these, and the first book of this series, "Peggy Owen," told of some dangers that his brave little daughter underwent to serve the cause she loved. In "Peggy Owen Patriot" is the story of a winter in New Jersey at Washington's camp, Peggy's capture, her unwilling stay in New York, and her final escape from her British captors in the Carolinas. Her pony, "Star," who appears again in this story, shared many of her dangers. "Peggy Owen and Liberty" completes the series.


CHAPTER PAGE I. A Loyal Subject of His Majesty, George Third, Makes a Shirt 11 II. Harriet Makes a Present 25 III. A Glimpse of Clifford 38 IV. A Strange Presentiment 52 V. A Day of Note 60 VI. A Message of Indignation 73 VII. Harriet Takes Matters in Hand 90 VIII. Hospitality Betrayed 103 IX. The Dictates of Humanity 115 X. Farewell to Home 127 XI. On the Road 139 XII. The Home of Washington 149 XIII. The Appearance of the Enemy 164 XIV. The Journey's End 174 XV. Peggy is Troubled 186 XVI. The Tables Turned 200 XVII. An Unwelcome Encounter 211 XVIII. Under the Lindens 220 XIX. Harriet at Last 234 XX. Vindicated 244 XXI. A Rash Resolve 254 XXII. For Love of Country 266 XXIII. A Question of Courage 280 XXIV. An Unexpected Encounter 289 XXV. Her Nearest Relative 301 XXVI. Tide Water Again 310 XXVII. Peggy Receives a Shock 321 XXVIII. Verified Suspicions 333 XXIX... Continue reading book >>

eBook Downloads
ePUB eBook
• iBooks for iPhone and iPad
• Nook
• Sony Reader
Kindle eBook
• Mobi file format for Kindle
Read eBook
• Load eBook in browser
Text File eBook
• Computers
• Windows
• Mac

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books