Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Collection of Letters (Dramatic Reading)

Book cover
By: (1775-1817)

In Collection of Letters (Dramatic Reading) by Jane Austen, readers are taken on a journey through a series of heartfelt and humorous letters exchanged between various characters. The distinctive voice of each character is brought to life through the dramatic reading, adding depth and emotion to the correspondence.

Austen's wit and keen observation of human nature shine through in this collection, as she navigates themes of love, friendship, and society with her signature charm and insight. The letters reveal the inner thoughts and feelings of the characters, providing a fascinating glimpse into their lives and relationships.

The dramatic reading enhances the theatricality of the letters, creating a captivating and engaging experience for the listener. Each character is given a distinct voice and personality, allowing the reader to fully immerse themselves in the world Austen has created.

Overall, Collection of Letters (Dramatic Reading) is a delightful and entertaining exploration of the art of letter writing and the complexities of human relationships. Austen's timeless storytelling still resonates today, making this collection a must-read for fans of her work and newcomers alike.

Book Description:
A Collection of Letters is an epistolary short story collection written by Jane Austen when she was fourteen years old. Although the novels Austen became known for were not published until she was in her thirties, she was an active writer from the age of twelve, frequently composing epistolary works such as A Collection of Letters. Austen eventually compiled 29 of her early writings in three notebooks that became known as the Juvenilia and that she called “Volume the First”, “Volume the Second”, and “Volume the Third”, including A Collection of Letters in “Volume the Second”. A Collection of Letters is set contemporaneously to Austen’s writing and consists of a series of five letters, each written by a woman of high society living in Great Britain. Unlike Austen’s later epistolary works, A Collection of Letters is not a novelette; each of these five letters tells a self-contained story, with no characters appearing in multiple letters. Nonetheless, the collection is unified in its lighthearted, humorous tone. Austen dedicated A Collection of Letters to her cousin Jane Cooper, who married famed Royal Navy officer Thomas Williams two years later and who died in a horse accident before the end of that decade; Williams went on to marry again twice, reputedly because his first marriage was so happy. Ironically, there are multiple parallels between Cooper’s later life and the second letter of this collection. - Summary by David Purdy Cast List: Jane Austen: Michele EatonA. F.: WendyKatzHillerAugusta: Krista ZaleskiSophia: Jenn BrodaMiss Jane: Lynette CaulkinsMaria Williams: Hannah DormorMrs Williams: Therese LindholmLady Greville: Dawn SuttonEllen Greville: Kaye BurkeImpertinent young lady: TJ BurnsMiss Grenville: Bethany BaldwinHenrietta Halton: Michelle PurdyTom Musgrove: David PurdyLady Scudamore: Anna MariaNarrator: James R. Hedrick

Stream audiobook and download chapters

eBook Downloads
ePUB eBook
• iBooks for iPhone and iPad
• Nook
• Sony Reader
Kindle eBook
• Mobi file format for Kindle
Read eBook
• Load eBook in browser
Text File eBook
• Computers
• Windows
• Mac

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books