Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads

Chandogya Upanishad

Book cover

The Chandogya Upanishad is a profound exploration of the nature of reality, the self, and the ultimate truth. It delves into the deepest questions of existence, using stories, metaphors, and philosophical teachings to guide the reader on a spiritual journey.

This ancient text offers insights into the interconnectedness of all things, the importance of self-awareness and self-realization, and the power of meditation and contemplation. It challenges readers to question their perceptions of the world and to seek a deeper understanding of the universe and their place within it.

The language of the Chandogya Upanishad is poetic and evocative, drawing readers into its philosophical musings and spiritual reflections. It is a thought-provoking and illuminating text that offers a glimpse into the wisdom of the ancient sages who sought to unlock the mysteries of existence.

Overall, the Chandogya Upanishad is a timeless masterpiece that continues to inspire and provoke readers to explore the depths of their own consciousness and the mysteries of the universe. It is a must-read for anyone interested in philosophy, spirituality, or the pursuit of truth.

Book Description:
The word Upanishad (upa-ni-shad) consists of, "Upa" means "near;" "ni" means "down;" "shad" means "to sit." Thus, Upanishad is to sit down near the teacher to discuss, learn, practice, and experience. There are some 200 or more Upanishads. Some are lost and are only known about because of being referenced in other Upanishads.

The Chandogya-upanishad belongs to the Sama-veda. It ranks among the oldest Upanishads, dating to the Brahmana period of Vedic Sanskrit (before the 8th century BC). It figures as number 9 in the Muktika canon of 108 Upanishads. It is part of the Chandogya Brahmana, which has ten Prapathakas (Parts). The first two Prapathakas of the Brahmana deal with sacrifices and other forms of worship. The other eight Prapathakas and their Khandas (Chapters) constitute the Chandogya Upanishad.

The 11 principal Upanishads to which Sankara appeals in his great commentary on the Vedanta-Surtras are: Chandogya, Talavakara or Kena, Aitareya, Kaushitaki, Vajasaneyi or Isha, Katha, Mundaka, Taittirtiyaka or Taittiriya, Brihadaranyaka, Svetasvatara, and Prasna. They are also called the 11 classical Upanishads or the fundamental Upanishads of the Vedanta Philosophy.

The Upanishadic literature is not a religious scripture and is free from dogma and doctrines. It is not a part of any religion but is a philosophy for all times and for all. German philosopher Arthur Schopenhauer, impressed by the Upanishads, called the texts "the production of the highest human wisdom".

Stream audiobook and download chapters

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books