Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

In a North Country Village

Book cover
By: (1859-1930)

In "In a North Country Village" by M. E. Francis, readers are transported to a charming village in the English countryside, where the close-knit community faces various challenges that test their bonds and resilience. The author paints a vivid picture of village life, capturing the beauty of the landscape and the quirks of its inhabitants with great detail.

The characters in the book are well-developed and relatable, each grappling with their own personal struggles and secrets. As their stories intertwine, the reader is drawn deeper into the web of village gossip and drama, eagerly turning pages to uncover the truth behind each character's facade.

Francis excels at creating a sense of place, making the village itself feel like a character in its own right. The pacing of the story is steady, with moments of tension and intrigue that keep the reader engaged from start to finish.

Overall, "In a North Country Village" is a charming and engaging read that offers a glimpse into the complexities of small-town life. Fans of literary fiction and stories about community and relationships will find much to enjoy in this heartfelt novel.

Book Description:
M. E. Francis was born Mary E. Sweetman in Dublin and moved to Lancashire on her marriage to Francis Nicholas Blundell, of the Blundell family, who remain squires of Little Crosby, the last Catholic recusant village in England, which lies a few miles north of Liverpool. Blundell died young and Mary went on to write more than 50 books, using her husband's Christian name as pen name, including this collection of 12 stories set in Little Crosby (‘Thornleigh’). A romantic portrait of mid-19th century village life written from an aristocratic point of view, In a North Country Village (1896) is built around striking portraits of strong Lancashire women surviving in the face of Hardyesque tragedy and the weaknesses of their men folk. M. E. Francis set many of her books in Ireland and Dorset, but several were set in Lancashire, including A Daughter of the Soil (1895), Yeoman Fleetwood (1900) and Marjory o'th' Mill (1907).

Stream audiobook and download chapters

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books