Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads

The Men Who Wrought   By: (1867-1943)

Book cover

In "The Men Who Wrought" by Ridgwell Cullum, readers are immersed in a captivating tale of ambition, adventure, and the pursuit of wealth. Set in the stunning backdrop of the Canadian Rockies, this novel takes us on a thrilling journey alongside a cast of colorful characters.

The story unfolds with the introduction of Philip Vernon, a young and ambitious mining engineer. A chance encounter with a mysterious stranger at a remote outpost sets the stage for an extraordinary adventure that will test his resilience and determination. As Vernon delves deeper into his quest for riches, he becomes entangled in a web of greed, sabotage, and treachery.

Cullum's vivid descriptions transport the reader to this rugged and untamed landscape, where danger lurks around every corner. From treacherous mountaintops to deep underground tunnels, each scene is beautifully rendered and adds to the palpable atmosphere of the story. The author's attention to detail is exceptional, making the reader feel as though they are right there, experiencing the harsh conditions alongside the characters.

The characters themselves are well-developed and multi-dimensional. Vernon's journey is not just a physical one; it is also a journey of self-discovery. As he faces numerous challenges and setbacks, we witness his evolution from a naïve and idealistic young man to a seasoned and resilient individual. The supporting cast of characters adds depth and complexity, each contributing to the intricate dynamics of the story.

One of the book's strengths lies in its exploration of the human spirit and its enduring desire for success. Cullum delves into the minds of his characters, exposing their innermost desires, fears, and motivations. It is through these introspective moments that we come to understand the lengths to which individuals are willing to go to achieve their goals.

The pacing of the narrative is well-balanced, with a mix of thrilling action sequences and introspective moments. The plot, though somewhat predictable at times, remains engaging and keeps the reader eagerly flipping the pages. Cullum's skillful storytelling ensures that the suspense never wavers, leaving the audience longing for resolution until the very end.

While "The Men Who Wrought" is primarily an adventure novel, it also delves into deeper themes of sacrifice, morality, and the consequences of one's actions. The complex moral dilemmas faced by the characters add a layer of complexity to the story, prompting readers to reflect on their own values and choices.

In conclusion, "The Men Who Wrought" is a gripping and immersive novel that offers readers a thrilling journey into the heart of the Canadian Rockies. With its beautifully depicted setting, well-rounded characters, and thought-provoking themes, Ridgwell Cullum manages to create a compelling tale that will captivate readers until the final page. However, readers seeking a completely unpredictable plot may find some aspects of the story predictable. Nonetheless, this is a book that adventure enthusiasts and fans of character-driven narratives will thoroughly enjoy.

First Page:

[Frontispiece: He Moved a Step Nearer the Steel Rail.]





Author of "The Night Riders," "The Way of the Strong," "The Law Breakers," etc.




Copyright, 1916, by

George W. Jacobs & Company

All rights reserved

Printed in U. S. A.


The Golden Woman The Law Breakers The Way of the Strong The Twins of Suffering Creek The Night Riders The One Way Trail The Trail of the Axe The Sheriff of Dyke Hole The Watchers of the Plains


I. The Danger II. A Strange Meeting III. The Mystery IV. Mr. Charles Smith V. The Lure VI. The Old Mill Cove VII. On the Grey North Sea VIII. Borga IX. The Friendly Deep X. The Future XI. Back at Dorby Towers XII. Kuhlhafen XIII. News XIV. "Kamerads" XV. The Ineradicable Strain XVI. Enemy Movements XVII. The Crouch of the Tiger XVIII. From Beneath the Waters XIX. The Tiger Springs XX. Bar Leighton XXI. Enemy Movements XXII. A Means of Escape XXIII. The Wreck at Dorby XXIV. Ruxton Arrives at a Great Decision XXV. The Sweetness of Life XXVI. Ruxton Wins a Trick XXVII... Continue reading book >>

eBook Downloads
ePUB eBook
• iBooks for iPhone and iPad
• Nook
• Sony Reader
Kindle eBook
• Mobi file format for Kindle
Read eBook
• Load eBook in browser
Text File eBook
• Computers
• Windows
• Mac

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books