Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads

Plays : Third Series   By: (1867-1933)

Book cover

Plays: Third Series by John Galsworthy offers a collection of plays, each representing the author's mastery of storytelling and characterization. The book encompasses five thought-provoking plays that delve into various aspects of human relationships, societal norms, and moral dilemmas.

The first play, while exploring the theme of class divides, delves into the complexities of privilege. It follows the lives of characters from different social backgrounds as they navigate the challenges of their circumstances. Galsworthy skillfully captures the subtleties of societal hierarchies and their impact on individuals, prompting readers to ponder the limitations and biases inherent in such systems.

The subsequent plays continue to impress with their ability to resonate with readers. One play explores the fragility of marriage and the consequences of unfulfilled desires. Galsworthy's nuanced portrayal of the characters' emotions and his skillful use of dialogue create a deeply immersive experience, drawing readers into the complex web of their relationships.

Another remarkable aspect of this collection is Galsworthy's exploration of moral dilemmas. In one play, the protagonist is faced with an ethical choice that has far-reaching consequences. Through this narrative, Galsworthy raises questions about personal responsibility, the nature of justice, and the sacrifices one must make for the greater good.

The author's writing style is captivating, characterized by vivid descriptions, realistic dialogue, and a keen sense of the human psyche. Galsworthy's ability to create multi-dimensional and relatable characters enables readers to fully engage with the stories, while also inspiring introspection and self-reflection.

Overall, Plays: Third Series by John Galsworthy is a thought-provoking collection that tackles important issues and ignites conversations. The plays offer a glimpse into the complexities of human nature, with themes that remain relevant even today. Galsworthy's skillful storytelling and insightful portrayals make this a must-read for lovers of thought-provoking literature and theater.

First Page:


By John Galsworthy

Contents: The Fugitive The Pigeon The Mob


A Play in Four Acts


GEORGE DEDMOND, a civilian CLARE, his wife GENERAL SIR CHARLES DEDMOND, K.C.B., his father. LADY DEDMOND, his mother REGINALD HUNTINGDON, Clare's brother EDWARD FULLARTON, her friend DOROTHY FULLARTON, her friend PAYNTER, a manservant BURNEY, a maid TWISDEN, a solicitor HAYWOOD, a tobacconist MALISE, a writer MRS. MILER, his caretaker THE PORTER at his lodgings A BOY messenger ARNAUD, a waiter at "The Gascony" MR. VARLEY, manager of "The Gascony" TWO LADIES WITH LARGE HATS, A LADY AND GENTLEMAN, A LANGUID LORD, HIS COMPANION, A YOUNG MAN, A BLOND GENTLEMAN, A DARK GENTLEMAN.

ACT I. George Dedmond's Flat. Evening.

ACT II. The rooms of Malise. Morning.

ACT III. SCENE I. The rooms of Malice. Late afternoon.

SCENE II. The rooms of Malise. Early Afternoon.

ACT IV. A small supper room at "The Gascony."

Between Acts I and II three nights elapse.

Between Acts II and Act III, Scene I, three months.

Between Act III, Scene I, and Act III, Scene II, three months.

Between Act III, Scene II, and Act IV, six months.

"With a hey ho chivy Hark forrard, hark forrard, tantivy!"


The SCENE is the pretty drawing room of a flat... Continue reading book >>

eBook Downloads
ePUB eBook
• iBooks for iPhone and iPad
• Nook
• Sony Reader
Kindle eBook
• Mobi file format for Kindle
Read eBook
• Load eBook in browser
Text File eBook
• Computers
• Windows
• Mac

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books