Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Sword of Welleran and Other Stories

Book cover
By: (1878-1957)

Sword of Welleran and Other Stories by Lord Dunsany is a collection of fantasy tales that transport the reader to ethereal realms filled with mythical creatures, ancient magic, and epic battles. Each story is beautifully written, with lush descriptions that bring the fantastical worlds to life.

One of the standout stories in the collection is "Sword of Welleran," which follows the last days of the city of Merimna as it prepares for an impending invasion. The titular character, Welleran, must wield his legendary sword to defend his city and its people, showcasing themes of courage, sacrifice, and heroism.

Other stories in the collection explore themes of mortality, faith, and the power of storytelling. Dunsany's prose is lyrical and enchanting, drawing readers into worlds that feel both familiar and otherworldly. The stories are short but impactful, leaving a lasting impression on the reader long after they have finished reading.

Overall, Sword of Welleran and Other Stories is a captivating collection that will appeal to fans of fantasy and speculative fiction. Dunsany's imaginative storytelling and vivid imagery make this book a must-read for anyone looking to escape into a world of wonder and magic.

Book Description:
The Sword of Welleran and Other Stories is the third book by Irish fantasy writer Lord Dunsany, considered a major influence on the work of J. R. R. Tolkien, H. P. Lovecraft, Ursula K. Le Guin and others. It was first published in hardcover by George Allen & Sons in October, 1908, and has been reprinted a number of times since. Issued by the Modern Library in a combined edition with A Dreamer's Tales as A Dreamer's Tales and Other Stories in 1917.

The book is a series of short stories, some of them linked by Dunsany's invented pantheon of deities who dwell in Pegāna, which were the focus of his earlier collections The Gods of Pegāna and Time and the Gods. One of the stories, "The Fortress Unvanquishable, Save for Sacnoth," was afterwards (1910) published by itself as a separate book.

Stream audiobook and download chapters

eBook Downloads
ePUB eBook
• iBooks for iPhone and iPad
• Nook
• Sony Reader
Kindle eBook
• Mobi file format for Kindle
Read eBook
• Load eBook in browser
Text File eBook
• Computers
• Windows
• Mac

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books