Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Framley Parsonage (version 2)

Book cover
By: (1815-1882)

Framley Parsonage is the fourth novel in Anthony Trollope's Chronicles of Barsetshire series, and it continues to impress with its richly drawn characters and insightful portrayal of Victorian society. The story follows the trials and tribulations of Mark Robarts, the young and ambitious parson of Framley, as he navigates the pressures of social obligations, financial difficulties, and moral dilemmas.

Trollope's writing is as engaging as ever, effortlessly weaving together the various storylines and perspectives of the characters. The novel skillfully explores themes of class, ambition, and the consequences of one's actions, making it a compelling and thought-provoking read.

One of the highlights of Framley Parsonage is the vividly depicted characters, from the flawed but well-intentioned Mark Robarts to the conniving and manipulative Mrs. Proudie. Each character is fully fleshed out and contributes to the rich tapestry of the novel, adding depth and complexity to the story.

Overall, Framley Parsonage is a delightful and engrossing read that will appeal to fans of Victorian literature and social commentary. Trollope's keen observations and sharp wit make this novel a timeless classic that is sure to captivate readers for years to come.

Book Description:
Framley Parsonage is the fourth novel in Anthony Trollope's series known as the Chronicles of Barsetshire. It was first published in serial form in the Cornhill Magazine in 1860, then in book form in 1861.The hero of Framley Parsonage, Mark Robarts, is a young vicar, settled in the village of Framley in Barsetshire with his wife and children. The living has come into his hands through Lady Lufton, the mother of his childhood friend Ludovic, Lord Lufton. Mark has ambitions to further his career and begins to seek connections in the county's high society. He is soon preyed upon by local Whig Member of Parliament Mr Sowerby to guarantee a substantial loan, which Mark in a moment of weakness agrees to do, even though he does not have the means and knows Sowerby to be a notorious debtor. The consequences of this blunder play a major role in the plot,

Another plot line deals with the romance between Mark's sister Lucy and Lord Lufton. The couple are deeply in love and the young man proposes, but Lady Lufton is against the marriage. She would prefer that her son instead choose the coldly beautiful Griselda Grantly, daughter of Archdeacon Grantly, and fears that Lucy is too "insignificant" for such a high position. Lucy herself recognises the great gulf between their social positions and declines the proposal. When Lord Lufton persists, she agrees only on condition that Lady Lufton ask her to accept her son.

The book ends with four marriages. Two of these involve the daughters of Bishop Proudie and Archdeacon Grantly. The rivalry between Mrs Proudie and Mrs Grantly over their matrimonial ambitions forms a significant comic subplot. The other marriage involves Doctor Thorne, the eponymous hero of the preceding novel in the series. A number of the other characters appear in other novels within the Chronicles of Barsetshire series.

Stream audiobook and download chapters

eBook Downloads
ePUB eBook
• iBooks for iPhone and iPad
• Nook
• Sony Reader
Kindle eBook
• Mobi file format for Kindle
Read eBook
• Load eBook in browser
Text File eBook
• Computers
• Windows
• Mac

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books