Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Ogura Hyakunin Isshu

Ogura Hyakunin Isshu by Fujiwara no Teika

Ogura Hyakunin Isshu is a collection of one hundred traditional Japanese poems compiled by the famous poet Fujiwara no Teika. These poems, called tanka, are exquisite in their simplicity and depth, capturing moments of love, longing, and nature with precision and beauty.

Each poem is accompanied by a vivid illustration, adding to the overall visual appeal of the book. The poems are arranged in a specific order, following the tradition of the Hyakunin Isshu card game where players match poems to their respective authors. This layout provides a unique reading experience and allows readers to appreciate the interconnectedness of the poems and poets.

The translation provided in this edition is clear and lyrical, capturing the essence of each poem while staying true to the original Japanese form. The inclusion of notes on the historical and cultural context of the poems enhances the reader's understanding and appreciation of the work.

Overall, Ogura Hyakunin Isshu is a beautiful collection of timeless poetry that offers insight into the rich literary tradition of Japan. It is a must-read for anyone interested in Japanese literature or poetry enthusiasts looking to explore a different poetic form.

Book Description:

Hyakunin isshu (百人一首) is a traditional style of compiling Japanese waka poetry where each contributor writes one poem for the anthology.

Stream audiobook and download chapters

Reviews (Rated: 5 Stars - 1 review)

Reviewer: - November 24, 2015
Subject: hyakunin-ishuu
so clear so warm a sound, perfect for learning and listening to these pieces of art.

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books