Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Prasna Upanishad

Book cover

Prasna Upanishad is a profound spiritual text that delves deep into the nature of existence and the ultimate reality. The Upanishad consists of six philosophical questions posed by seekers to a sage, and the answers provided by the sage are filled with wisdom and insight.

The text covers various esoteric topics such as the nature of the self, the cycles of birth and death, the importance of meditation, and the ultimate goal of life - achieving liberation from the cycle of rebirth. The teachings in Prasna Upanishad resonate with a sense of deep spirituality and offer a path for seekers to attain enlightenment and self-realization.

The writing style is concise and direct, making it accessible to readers of all backgrounds. The translation captures the essence of the original Sanskrit text, allowing readers to delve into the profound philosophical ideas contained within the Upanishad.

Overall, Prasna Upanishad is a timeless spiritual text that offers profound insights into the nature of existence and the ultimate reality. It is a must-read for anyone interested in delving deeper into the mysteries of life and spirituality.

Book Description:
The word Upanishad (upa-ni-shad) consists of, "Upa" means "near;" "ni" means "down;" "shad" means "to sit." Thus, Upanishad is to sit down near the teacher to discuss, learn, practice, and experience. There are some 200 or more Upanishads. Some are lost and are only known about because of being referenced in other Upanishads.

Most of the Upanishads were kept secret for centuries, only passed on to others orally in the form of Shloka (a category of verse line developed from the Vedic Anustubh meter).

Prasna-Upanishad is one the 11 principal Upanishads dating from 6th BCE to the begning of the Common Era.

Prasana means question in Sanskrit. This Upanisahad contains six questions posed by six pupils to Pipplalda and answers to them by Pipplada.

The 11 principal Upanishads to which Sankara appeals in his great commentary on the Vedanta-Surtras are: Chandogya, Talavakara or Kena, Aitareya, Kaushitaki, Vajasaneyi or Isha, Katha, Mundaka, Taittirtiyaka or Taittiriya, Brihadaranyaka, Svetasvatara, and Prasna. They are also called the 11 classical Upanishads or the fundamental Upanishads of the Vedanta Philosophy.

The Upanishadic literature is not a religious scripture and is free from dogma and doctrines. It is not a part of any religion but is a philosophy for all times and for all. German philosopher Arthur Schopenhauer, impressed by the Upanishads, called the texts "the production of the highest human wisdom".

Stream audiobook and download chapters

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books