Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads


Book cover
By: (1700-1748)

Seasons by James Thomson is a beautiful collection of poems that vividly captures the beauty and essence of each of the four seasons. Thomson's descriptive language and imagery bring each season to life, allowing readers to truly experience the sights, sounds, and feelings associated with spring, summer, autumn, and winter.

The poems in this collection are not only visually stunning, but they also evoke a sense of nostalgia and reflection on the passing of time and the cyclical nature of life. Thomson's ability to convey the emotions and moods that each season evokes is truly masterful, making this book a joy to read and revisit throughout the year.

Overall, Seasons is a timeless classic that showcases the beauty of nature and the changing seasons in a way that is both poignant and inspiring. I would highly recommend this book to anyone who appreciates poetry, nature, and the beauty of the world around us.

Book Description:
The Seasons is a series of four long poems in blank verse by the Scottish poet James Thomson, each poem describing one of the four seasons. The poems are replete with various scenes of nature described with loving detail, as well as Thomson's view of the proper relationship between humans and nature, which anticipates the attitudes of the Romantics. "Spring," which was published in 1728, first brought Thomson to mainstream attention. He followed it up with "Summer," "Winter," and "Autumn," publishing all four as The Seasons in 1730. It is in large part because of the reputation he garnered from the publication of The Seasons that the critic William Hazlitt called Thomson "the best and most original of our descriptive poets."

Stream audiobook and download chapters

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books