Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Zigzags of Treachery and other stories

Book cover
By: (1894-1961)

"Zigzags of Treachery and Other Stories" by Dashiell Hammett is a riveting collection of crime fiction tales that transport readers into a world of deceit, betrayal, and mystery. Hammett's trademark gritty writing style and razor-sharp dialogue keep the reader on the edge of their seat from start to finish.

Each story in the collection is unique and captivating, featuring a diverse range of characters and settings. From hard-boiled detectives navigating the dark underbelly of society to cunning con artists and femme fatales with hidden agendas, Hammett's stories are full of twists and turns that will leave readers guessing until the very end.

What sets Hammett apart as a master storyteller is his ability to create complex and multi-dimensional characters that come to life on the page. Whether it's a disillusioned private eye seeking redemption or a calculating criminal mastermind plotting their next heist, Hammett's characters are always intriguing and flawed in the most compelling ways.

Overall, "Zigzags of Treachery and Other Stories" is a must-read for fans of classic crime fiction. With its expertly crafted plots, sharp dialogue, and unforgettable characters, this collection showcases Dashiell Hammett at the height of his storytelling prowess.

Book Description:
The death of a well known San Francisco doctor brings a charge of murder for his wife, but is it murder or suicide, and is she really his wife? The Continental Op is on the case in Dashiell Hammett’s “Zigzags of Treachery,” featured here along with two more novellas from the pages of Black Mask magazine, "The Girl with Silver Eyes" and “The Golden Horseshoe.” - Summary by Winston Tharp

Stream audiobook and download chapters

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books