Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

Second Book of Samuel (ASV)

Second Book of Samuel (ASV) by American Standard Version

The Second Book of Samuel, as translated by the American Standard Version, offers a detailed account of the reign of King David following the death of King Saul. The text delves into David's military conquests, political intrigues, and personal struggles, showcasing the complexities of human nature and the challenges of leadership.

The language of the American Standard Version is formal and authoritative, adding a sense of gravitas to the narrative. The translation remains faithful to the original Hebrew text, making it a valuable resource for scholars and theologians seeking a deeper understanding of the Bible.

The Second Book of Samuel is a rich tapestry of stories, including the rise of David from shepherd to king, his affair with Bathsheba, and the tragic consequences of his actions. The book also delves into the relationships between David and his family, his friends, and his enemies, painting a vivid portrait of a flawed but compelling figure.

Overall, the Second Book of Samuel is a powerful and poignant account of power, betrayal, and redemption. The American Standard Version translation does justice to the timeless themes and narrative of this ancient text, making it a valuable addition to any library.

Book Description:

“The Books of Samuel (Hebrew: Sefer Sh’muel ספר שמואל) are part of the Tanakh (part of Judaism’s Hebrew Bible) and also of the Christian Old Testament. The work was originally written in Hebrew, and the Book(s) of Samuel originally formed a single text, as they are often considered today in Hebrew bibles. Together with what is now referred to as the Book(s) of Kings, the translators who created the Greek Septuagint divided the text into four books, which they named the Books of the Kingdoms. In the Latin Vulgate version, these then became the Books of the Kings, thus 1 and 2 Samuel were referred to as 1 and 2 Kings, with 3 and 4 Kings being what are called 1 and 2 Kings by the King James Bible and its successors.”

Book sections

Stream audiobook and download chapters

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books