Books Should Be Free
Loyal Books
Free Public Domain Audiobooks & eBook Downloads
Search by: Title, Author or Keyword

The Works of Aphra Behn Volume IV   By: (1640-1689)

Book cover

In Volume IV of The Works of Aphra Behn, readers are treated to a collection of the playwright's most famous and influential works. Aphra Behn's witty and sharp writing style shines through in each piece, showcasing her talent for creating memorable characters and engaging storylines.

One of the highlights of this volume is Behn's play "The Rover," a raucous and entertaining comedy that explores themes of love, lust, and gender roles. The characters are vibrant and multi-dimensional, and Behn's sharp dialogue keeps the action moving at a brisk pace.

Another standout piece is Behn's novel "Oroonoko," which tells the tragic story of a young African prince sold into slavery. The novel is a powerful and moving indictment of the cruelty and injustice of the slave trade, and Behn's passionate prose makes it impossible to put down.

Overall, Volume IV of The Works of Aphra Behn is a must-read for fans of classical literature and feminist writers. Behn's work continues to resonate with modern audiences, and her unique voice and perspective make her an essential figure in the canon of English literature.

First Page:

[Transcriber's Note:

This e text comes in two forms: Latin 1 and ASCII 7. Use the one that works best on your text reader. In the Latin 1 version, French words like "étude" have accents and "æ" is a single letter. If you see any garbage in this paragraph and can't get it to display properly, use the ASCII 7 or rock bottom version. All necessary text will still be there; it just won't be as pretty.

In the printed book, all notes were grouped at the end of the volume as "Notes on the Text" and "Notes: Critical and Explanatory". For this e text, notes have been placed after their respective plays. The Notes as printed give only page and line numbers; act and scene designations shown between marks were added by the transcriber. Labels such as "Scene IIa" refer to points where the scene description changes without a new scene number.

The critical notes include a few cross references to other volumes of the Complete Works. Where appropriate, these texts are quoted after each play's Notes, before the Errata. The "N.E.D." of the Notes is now generally known as the OED.

Except in the Errata lists, all brackets are in the original.

Typographic note: In the printed book, all references to plays give the Act in lower case Roman numerals and the Scene in small capital Roman numerals; the two look identical except for the dots over the i's... Continue reading book >>

Book sections

eBook Downloads
ePUB eBook
• iBooks for iPhone and iPad
• Nook
• Sony Reader
Kindle eBook
• Mobi file format for Kindle
Read eBook
• Load eBook in browser
Text File eBook
• Computers
• Windows
• Mac

Review this book

Popular Genres
More Genres
Paid Books